Rita Summers Takes Grand Prize!

Postmarkd Art has featured my ‘agatha’s wardrobe’ art prize win on their blog – thanks so much to Franki and everyone!

Postmark'd Art

Each year, Blarney Books and Art in Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia hosts a major competition and exhibition of art made from books.  Rita Summers, who was the only Tasmanian entrant this year, submitted Agatha’s Wardrobe, a mixed media artwork incorporating pages from an 1835 publication entitled Agatha’s Husband.

Rita Summers, Agatha's Wardrobe, 2013Rita’s entry, described by the judges as a ‘very subtle and emotional piece’, was awarded the grand prize of $1,500.  Blarney Books and Art have also purchased Rita’s winning entry for their permanent collection.

Art is a way of life for Rita, as can be seen from her original poem, included with her entry: 

art is like breathing to me

life and thoughts impressed on paper, cloth, the air

fleeting sounds and images

captured before they escape forever

Rita explains, ‘I like to push the boundaries in my art to create my own original style.   My qualifications and background focus…

View original post 392 more words

This entry was posted in collage by gonerustic. Bookmark the permalink.

About gonerustic

In my past life I've been a teacher, a community house manager and a radio station manager. Art has been a strong thread that has run through most of my life, and is now my main focus and passion. I co-own and operate a gallery in Tasmania, Australia.

10 thoughts on “Rita Summers Takes Grand Prize!

      • That new ‘toy’ machine photo is frameable in itself!
        Beautiful beautiful. It’s to be proud of, for sure! I’m pea green!!! 😉
        I can guess that you will be thrilled every time you sit down to use it, too.
        Jan

        Like

  1. Pingback: new toy | gonerustic

  2. This is a wonderful distinction, Rita – no wonder you won the grand prize. Such a large undertaking of expert craftsmanship, and your work also exudes so much of a narrative that demands a closer look. Something also about fiber pieces that include miniature dresses that is so fascinating (and labor-intensive;) congrats to you and can’t wait to see more work in this genre from you!

    Like

    • Such a lovely comment to find today – thank you so much! It was quite labour-intensive, although not as much as some of my work … enjoyed every minute of creating this. I tried to tell the story visually, and I’m so glad you saw this in ‘agatha’s wardrobe’ … =D

      Like

please leave a comment

